ConstructionSkills homepage
About us | Sector Skills Agreement | Strategic Initiatives | Research | News | Have your say
About us > What is a Sector Skills Council? > 
What is a Sector Skills Council?

The UK can only compete in the global economy if it has a highly skilled and productive workforce. Yet the UK are lagging behind many other countries in this respect, the Government believes.

Sector Skills Councils (SSCs) have been set up to decide how training is delivered and funded in the UK.

There are currently 22 SSCs covering all sectors of the economy from textiles to finance and IT. They are independent, employer-led organisations that actively involve trade unions, professional bodies and other key stakeholders.

Collectively the SSCs form the Skills for Business Network, which is responsible for tackling the skills and productivity needs of the UK.

SSCs are the voice of the industry they represent – not of Government. But they are answerable to Government for meeting their targets through their Sector Skills Agreement (SSA) and the Sector Skills Development Agency (SSDA).

All SSCs have the same four key goals and each SSC is responsible for dealing with the skills needs within their sector UK-wide. The four key goals are:

  • Reduce skills gaps and shortages
  • Improve productivity
  • Increase opportunities for all individuals in the workforce
  • Improve learning supply

For the first time, SSCs give employers direct input into how training funding and policy are organised.

And through ConstructionSkills, the whole of the construction industry – craft, technical and professional services - are now able to speak with one voice.

Links with other Sector Skills Councils

Construction Industry Council
CITB Northern Ireland
Skills for Business Network

Site map

print page

Print this page

Terms & Conditions


Privacy Policy




Contact us